Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x

Crystal Pineapple Awards Successful!

swescotwilliamsatcpa25112014PHILIPSBURG:--- The 9th annual Crystal Pineapple Awards Gala Event, held on Friday November 21st 2014, by the St. Maarten Hospitality & Trade Association (SHTA), was an outstanding and spectacular event. The evening saw 19 persons receive awards in the categories of Accommodations, Trade, and Community Service, as well as 6 persons /organizations in the extraordinary categories. The SHTA extends congratulations to all the nominees and winners of the 9th annual Crystal Pineapple Awards.
Guests were treated to a visual oasis of black & white with purple accents by Glitter Events who was contracted to transform the venue into a magical ambiance suitable only for St, Maarten's best and brightest stars in the Tourism arena.
The gala event was held at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino which has been the host venue for many years to the event. The resort also prepared a sumptuous and elaborate culinary extravaganza complete with living statutes which included more than ten live food stations, expertly prepared dishes such as a giant Paella, Sushi & Sashimi platters, roast leg of Lamb, Chateau Briand and a sumptuous dessert selection ranging from an array of cheeses and fruit to Sonesta's signature pastries.
The Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Anenda Zaandam, who tied the evening together along with board members and experts of the industry presenting the various awards. Singers ARIAS opened with the National Anthem & closed the evening with a heart-warming "Time to say Goodbye". In addition to singers, the night included dancers from the INDISU Dance Theatre performing a jazz ensemble. The event brought the right amount of excitement, anticipation and entertainment for everyone to enjoy. Besides the live entertainment and DJ K, the lucky winner of the raffle and the winner of the social media challenge, each received a weekend stay and the new Ocean Point Resort.
The Honorable Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams was present during that evening, as well as Member of Parliament Silveria Jacobs. This years' SHTA Person of the Year Award went to the late Erika Cannegiter-Smith who received this award for her many years contributing to the island through her foundation "Be the Change".
SHTA would like to thank all those that were involved in organizing the event. A special Thank You goes out to the sponsors: Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, Discover Financial Services, GEBE, PDG Supplies, UTS, Harbour Group of Companies, Autobev, PricewaterhouseCoopers, First Caribbean International Bank, North South Net, Antillean Liquors, Topper's Rhum and all the persons and companies who donated items to the raffle and the silent auction.
Highlights of the winners can be found below:

Restaurants & Bars Awards
Employee of the Year
Valda Revan-Dawes – Mark's Place

Manager/Supervisor of the Year
Cleopatra Blair – Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Restaurateur of the Year
Pierre Ferland – Pineapple Pete's

Chef of the Year
Raymond Kaper – Holland House Beach Hotel

Bartender of the Year
Paul Peterson - Temptation

Trade Awards
Employee of the Year
Angie Prince – Asha Stevens Hillside Christian Schools

Supervisor of the Year
Rafael Martinez – St. Maarten Sightseeing Tours

Manager of the Year
Myrtille Brookson – Ennia

Accommodation Awards
Rookie of the Year
Priya Forde – Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Employee of the Year
Marcia Gordon – Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Supervisor of the Year
Adil Benjamin – Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Departmental Manager of the Year
Barbara Warren – The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

General Manager of the Year
Carlo Zambrini – Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Timeshare Sales Person of the Year
Murvin Priest– Royal Islander Club

Outstanding Community Service Achievement Award
Art Saves Lives Foundation

Best Educational Innovation Award
Philipsburg Jubilee Library

Public Media Award
AVS News

Tourism Ambassador Award
Cindy Miller

Outstanding Environmental Achievement Award
Nature Foundation

SHTA Person of the Year Award
Erika Cannegieter-Smith

Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x


Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x
Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.x